Would you like to own your very own Governor/politician?

Jane Mayer at the 2008 Texas Book Festival, Au...

Jane Mayer at the 2008 Texas Book Festival, Austin, Texas, United States. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Well I did not win the big lottery last Saturday. $660 million would have been nice.

But then I did not really have a chance because I did not buy a ticket. Had I thought about it while I was at a retailer that sold the tickets I most likely would have bought a couple.

Like most people when buying one of these tickets you have some time to imagine what you would do with all that money, what kind of lifestyle changes would you make?  How great your life would be if money were of no concern.

I thought about this for a while and reached the conclusion that I really do not want to win the lottery, or at least one of such magnitude. I thought such a vast sum of money may destroy me, I would possibly lose my desire to continue striving for those things I think are important in this life.

But then it hit me, with that much money I could probably buy a Governor or perhaps a bevy of congressmen or senators.  Hmmm?  The Koch brothers have their politicians why not me?

And this of course brings me to the article by Jane Mayer in the New Yorker dealing with the Koch brothers and their greedy hands reaching for control of PBS. It is a lengthy article but very interesting I One quote from the article sticks in my mind.

“We have to realize that we live in a world where people with power have power.”

Here is the link, check it out and let me know what you think.

http://www.newyorker.com/reporting/2013/05/27/130527fa_fact_mayer?currentPage=all

Leave a Reply

