Winning the Lottery

English: The former Castle Station post office...

English: The former Castle Station post office, which is now the Castle Museum of Saginaw County History, in Saginaw, Michigan, United States, is listed on the US National Register of Historic Places (NRHP). (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A few weeks back I had mentioned that winning the 590 million dollar lottery would probably do me more harm than good. That vast amount of money may cause me to lose focus on what is really important in this life.

Now I have had second thoughts on such a condition. You see I came up with a couple of ideas of what could be done with the money, listen to these ideas and let me know what you think.

First thought was to work on the problem killing my local community of Saginaw, Michigan and urban centers nationwide. My focus on the small city of Saginaw is an attempt to keep it manageable. Any lessons learned here could be implemented on a grander scale in places like Detroit, Mi and Chicago, Il.

Any way on with my dream…

Saginaw has a diminishing population, a decrease in tax revenue, an increase in crime and an increasing amount of poverty level households headed up by single mothers.  All of these conditions are interrelated to some extent.

So with this money I am going to put together a group that will come up with not just causes for this dismal condition but more importantly some ideas on solving the problems.

This group will include:

Bill Gates, This man has worked on eradication of poverty and disease in Africa, his insights would be of value here.

Bill Cosby, I have heard this man chastise young blacks suggesting they get up off their ass and take responsibility for their actions. Being a father requires more than just being a sperm donor.

Michelle Rhee, I have heard bad things about this lady in education circles but, I have also heard good things. Her input may also be of value.

Locally I would have the gentleman who started Parishioners on patrol. Sorry, do not know his name but am sure you or someone near you does.

Stacy Erwin Oakes would be included, a politician but one that appears to have a finger on the pulse of the local populace.

I would also include 2 or 3 young people from the community.

And off the top of my head I would include Dawn French and/or Kimbru Kuch as recording secretaries.

This group would meet initially to set an agenda and a goal with a target date.

A fantasy you say, yep but it is my money and my fantasy.

Tomorrow I will tell you about the business I am planning to start in my fantasy.

3 thoughts on “Winning the Lottery

  1. Sadly 590 million would shrink to around 200 million after the IRS was finished with you. (In Canada lottery winnings are tax free) If I were you I would take the money and purchase as many of the 100,000 empty homes in Detroit, fix them up, then give them to people who needed a break under the condition they kept out of trouble, gave back to the community, and agreed the home would be passed on to another family when they died. Hell – I’d throw in health insurance and subsidise education, build a community college, community garden, and offer low interest loans to open businesses in the community. 🙂

    Like

    • Wow, you have much grander ideas than me. We have many empty homes right here in Saginaw which could be bought up and so on. Your reply makes you a strong candidate for joining my fictional group, be prepared for a fictional phone call to attend the first meeting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

