Saturday Night Chatter

Ida May Fuller, the first recipient

Ida May Fuller, the first recipient (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Have been joining a group at the club for the last couple of months where we enjoy a few brewskis and general discussion on various topics.

We generally go light on politics as the group has diverse views. Last night there was some discussion of racism but the most violent remark came when a member called me a Democrat. 😉  I responded with “yes I am.” After giving it some thought my response should have been, yes I am a proud Democrat.

Proud to be supporting such people as Ohio Senator Sherrod Brown who is working to save and improve Social Security for young people. Rather than supporting such people as Texas Senator Ted Cruz who is trying to eliminate Social Security and Medicare for young people like you.

I don’t recall how the racism topic came up, but I do recall the group started to talk about blacks. I remained silent fiddling with the dollar bill lying on the table in front of me. I did this as I am outnumbered by anywhere from 4 to 1 to 6 to 1 depending on who was there. Then one man said “Larry is getting nervous with this talk.” Damn, I didn’t know my feelings were so obvious.

So, recalling something I had heard a while back, if you see or hear racists or discriminatory remarks and do nothing, you are approving of said remarks. I spoke up.

I said,” I totally detest racism and any other form of discriminatory actions. If you peel away skin color, religious beliefs, sexual orientation and any other conditions, you will find that we are all just people on this earth with very similar needs and wants.”

It was at this point when the young man called me a Democrat. He said “I agree with you, even though you are a Democrat.”

Not really sure if I can call this a victory or not, but it did cause many at the table to pause and reflect.

7 thoughts on “Saturday Night Chatter

  1. In the off chance you’ve never seen this:

    “If by a “Liberal” they mean someone who looks ahead and not behind, someone who welcomes new ideas without rigid reactions, someone who cares about the welfare of the people-their health, their housing, their schools, their jobs, their civil rights and their civil liberties-someone who believes we can break through the stalemate and suspicions that grip us in our policies abroad, if that is what they mean by a “Liberal”, then I’m proud to say I’m a “Liberal.”

    ― John F. Kennedy, Profiles in Courage

    Like

Leave a Reply

