What do they want?

The local Democratic Party meeting last week featured some really good soup and some really good conversations with some really good people.

I have a nephew who I really enjoy spending time with, he has a sense of humor that I can relate to and he always brings a smile to both my face and my heart. This man moved to Tennessee many years ago, got married and raised a family. He also became a southern evangelical Baptist during that time. Our conversations rarely touch on religion but do cover politics to some extent.

He was in town for a few days and I had jokingly asked him if he wanted to go to the meeting with me. He politely refused.

The next day we were visiting and he told me of the joke he had just received via email. A joke I too had received. “It is so cold out that I saw a Democrat with his hands in his own pocket.” Wasn’t really that funny to me but him and the fellow that sent it to me thought it was hilarious.

The Democratic meeting came into the discussion and he asked me. “What do they want?” This question sat me back a bit as I had never been asked it before in such a manner and told him I could not really say at that time what they wanted.

The group is diversified with people from all walks of life. It includes whites, blacks, Latinos, and occasionally Asians. There are men and women ranging in age from late teens to retirees in their seventies. The group has both straights and gays in attendance. There are members that attend church on a regular weekly basis and members that are atheists. So I ask you how am I to know What they want?

I can say with confidence that they do not want to put their hands in your pockets. This is a misconception put out by the corporatists in an effort to divide and conquer and it should be put to rest for now and forever.

Not speaking for all but I will now tell you what I want.

I want to live in a society where people are not judged by their skin color, their sexual preference, their religious beliefs or even their gender.

I want to live in a community where my children and grandchildren are given the opportunity to work and earn a living wage.

I want to live in a community where all people are provided with affordable healthcare.

I want to live in a community where the children are provided with a good affordable education.

I want to live in a community where people do not feel they must have an assault rifle at the ready to protect themselves from imaginary felons.

I want to live in a community where people do not fear being assaulted by police that are supposed to be here to serve and protect.

I want to live in a community where the only answer to crime is not “lock them up and throw away the key”.

I want to live in a community where people are free to speak and peacefully gather together to share their opinions without fear of persecution by government officials.

And I want to live in a community where I can take my dog for a walk without the fear of getting caught in the crossfire of drug gangs having a shootout.

So my friend, tell me what we can do together to achieve those wants.

Related: http://www.cnn.com/2014/01/10/us/north-carolina-teen-killed/

 

4 thoughts on “What do they want?

    • Interesting reply Notes, brings back a story i have shared from when i used to winter in Florida. I would ask folks to consider this fact, In Florida we see people from Canada, a liberal country in comparison to the U.S., in their $300,00 motor-homes escaping the cold and snow in comfort and warmth. We also see people from Mexico, a more conservative country in comparison to the U.S., living in migrant shacks and picking oranges.

      Like

Leave a Reply

