Recently had a discussion with a couple in their fifties

They both expressed concerns I have heard before from so many in their age group. The main concern being, we will probably have to work until we die. The husband also shared with me his disgust with having to pay so much in taxes every week.

I did not respond to the tax statement, perhaps I should have. I could have told him many things. I could have told him, your problem is not really the amount of taxes you pay; your problem is your wages have remained stagnant for so many years. While inflation is not rampant it still exists and your wages have not kept up with it.

I could have told him if the rich were still paying their fair share of taxes like they did in years gone by, perhaps the burden on him would be less.

I could have told him that the decimation of unions has played havoc on wages received by working people like him and his fellow workers.

But alas I let this opportunity slip by untouched.

As for the retirement talk, I did tell them that another Senator had just jumped on the raise Social Security benefits band wagon. I told them that this Senator had said “with the elimination of defined benefit pensions and the failure of 401ks promises, it is time to increase SS and adjust the cost of living allowances based on actual expenses experienced by seniors.”

They both looked at me in disbelief. Fat chance of that happening they said. They had both been told by the corporate controlled main stream media for years that Social Security was going broke. Told this repeatedly, so now they were convinced it was a fact.

Social Security is currently well funded and it could be increased and made viable for years to come with just a few changes. My choice would be removing or lifting the earnings cap on taxes; it would be nice if all Americans paid the same rate.

I could have or should have told them that their current condition is the result of years of work and planning by the “ruling” class.

A fellow blogger has posted a three-part blog explaining in lengthy detail what has happened in the U.S. over the past 40 years or so both in economic and social terms. I highly recommend everyone take the time to read all three blogs.

The first can be found here…… http://deconstructingmyths.com/2014/01/31/a-nation-at-risk-american-hustle/

Take the time to read all three, they are very informative.

Sunny yet cool today.

11 thoughts on “Recently had a discussion with a couple in their fifties

  1. I watched some older videos which I saw a few years ago but which are so much more pertinent now. I highly recommend: “Capitalism: A Love Story” & “Sicko” both by Roger Moore. The latter is especially important given the state of healthcare in the US. Both very watchable and educational while being entertaining as well. They should be available in DVD in libraries.

    Like

  2. I watched some older videos which I saw a few years ago but which are so much more pertinent now. I highly recommend: “Roger And Me” & “Sicko” both by Michael Moore. The latter is especially important given the state of healthcare in the US. Both very watchable and educational while being entertaining as well. They should be available in DVD in libraries.

    Like

    • You know Lesley, I am going to rent them. I have admired Michael Moore for years but for some reason have not seen either of these documentaries. Thanks for bringing them back into my brain.

      Like

      • Don’t miss “Sicko’ especially. If more people saw this they might insist on real change. I’ve lived in other countries and saw for myself how we Americans have been cheated and lied to but it’s hard to convince most people here. “Capitalism’ (as opposed to Democracy) is very good. Michael Moore is often criticized for being too flamboyant, but really, who wants to see a movie with charts, graphs, and lectures?

        Like

  3. I have mentioned sicko many times to many people. But they just won’t watch. But like to complain, the us is way ehindin health care or. Could it be the us is very greedy.

    Like

    • Yes we are way behind. This is the result of extensive planning and action by the one percent. Reading the blogs i have linked to in this blog explains this in more detail. And it also explains why it is so difficult to get many to watch Sicko or other sources of knowledge in various areas.

      Like

Leave a Reply

