Immigration Crisis hits America, My thoughts

We, as Americans, expect Jordan to set up refugee camps for those fleeing Syria, we expect the Ivory Coast to provide refuge to Africans fleeing death and starvation in their home countries.
Yet many join together to protest the care and handling of children fleeing similar conditions in Central America.
Of the protestors I have seen on the telly, none appear to be Native Americans, they are all immigrants or children of immigrants.
It bothers me to no end to see these people waving American flags, this in not the America that I want to live in, this is an America of greed.
It has been suggested that the root cause of this problem should be addressed. I agree with this, now one has to determine what is the root cause?
Some say it is a result of former President Clinton’s NAFTA agreement. Local farmers could not compete with big agriculture of America.
Some say it is a result of American’s insatiable appetite for drugs, if there were no demand there would be no drug trade and the resulting violence.
My thoughts are, it is a combination of these events and possibly others of which I know nothing about.
A religious person posted on Facebook “send them back, we cannot take care of EVERYONE.” I replied “Your comment brings sadness to my life. WWJD?”
Another comment on Facebook chastised me for pointing out the fact that these children are being processed under a law passed and signed into law by G.W. Bush.
He told me to quit blaming Bush, the blame lies with Obama for signing the Dream Act. I pointed out the fact that the Dream Act has nothing to do with the current situation, the Dream Act deals with children that were brought into this country years ago by their parents.
I have not heard back from this poster since.
Here is a link to an article in the Los Angeles Times. That explains the situation in more detail you may want to check it out.
http://www.latimes.com/world/mexico-americas/la-fg-guatemala-migrants-20140703-story.html#page=1
Carry on my friends, carry on!

One thought on “Immigration Crisis hits America, My thoughts

Leave a Reply

